Where It All Began; Tills to Tiltmeters

Standard

In school I was never really  academic, always in top sets but far from top of the class. I wanted to be an artist, a fashion designer, any thing that was creative. one teacher always saw something deeper in me than paint and fabric. My year 7 history teacher was head of humanities and in the end the head of 6th form. She was at heart a geographer and geologist, a pet rock collection on her desk. In year 9 she convinced my mum I had to take geography in my GCSE’s, and come 6th form again I had to take the subject to stay on. Although my time there was short lived, dropping out and taking to high street retail, the foundation had been laid!

Never one for social geography, physical geography had sparked my interest; learning how the land forms and changes, how the nature can turn lives upside down in an instant.  I began to really enjoy films such a Dante’s Peak and the Day After Tomorrow, googling the science behind the scenes that unfolded on the screen. By the age of 22 I had established my career and had become the youngest manager in my company. I also had a two year old I barely saw round my 50 odd hour weeks and strange hours. I liked my job but I couldn’t accept that this was it, this was all my life would be.

So I handed in my notice and took a year out to re evaluate what I wanted. By the time the year was up I was climbing the walls, house work and news 24 the only thing keeping my brain ticking.  I began to look at colleges and university but still was so unsure where I could see myself in 10years time.

Then March 11th 2011 happened!

Just 29km under the sea floor a M9 earthquake occurred of the coast of Honshu Japan. Its surface waves felt throughout the country, but this was not the worst of it. Within minutes a tsunami with peaks  of 40 meters in places, devastated the east coast of Japan and within hours even the west coast of America was being battered by waves in excess of 2 meters.

I was gripped, flicking from BBC news to Sky to CNN, correcting the reports when they said incorrect terminology and googling things I myself did not know. I surprised my self with how much I knew and found myself desperate to learn more.

3 years down the line I am just over half way through my BSc Natural Science with the Open University, Specializing in geoscience and hoping to go on to do my masters in volcanolgy or geohazards,  after which I hope to work in the field, trying to fully understand the volatile world we live in and how humanity can really survive it.

This blog is to help document my journey and practice my scientific writing as well as giving my perspective on some of the greatest geological issues past, present and future…

About Melly Rocks

20 something living in London while doing my Natural Science BSc with the Open University. Wannabe geologist and trainee volcanologist. Living life to the full and following the rocky road to my dreams...

One response »

  1. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter
    a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and
    without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The
    problem is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.

    I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

